Countries That Do Not Exist on the Map
Countries That Do Not Exist on the Map
  • 진하은 기자
  • 승인 2017.10.30 09:00
  • 댓글 0
이 기사를 공유합니다

There are about 200 countries on the planet but are they all marked on the map? Unfortunately, this is not necessarily the case. Three of these nations are located on the southeastern coast of the Baltic Sea. They are Estonia, Lithuania, and Latvia.

These are independent states today, but they were called Baltic Republics when they were Soviet-controlled republics. Prior to World War II, Finland was sometimes included as part of the "Baltic States." For example, in the German-Soviet non-aggression treaty, Nazi Germany referred to Finland as a Baltic coastal state. Since the 1920s and 1930s, an increasingly accepted opinion is that Finland should be included in the Nordic countries, not the Baltic States.

The Baltic States are usually tied together, but it is pointed out that they have little in common. Estonia also wants to become a Nordic country and Lithuania focuses on relations with Poland and Eastern Europe. The common history of the Baltic states began with the introduction of Christianity and feudalism by the German Sword Brethren in the thirteenth century. After that, Denmark, Sweden, Poland, Russia and Germany insisted on their own territory of the Baltic States.

By 1582, almost all of the three Baltic states except for northern Estonia were under Polish-Lithuanian rule. In the nineteenth century, this area was under Russian rule. There were German kings and Swedish rulers, but because they were loyal to the Russian emperor, the area became autonomous and German culture spread widely.

At the end of World War I, the Baltic States became independent states. However, as the German-Soviet non-aggression treaty was signed, Nazi Germany agreed that the Soviet Union would merge almost all of the Baltic states. After a short period of Soviet rule, Germany invaded the Soviet Union at the end of World War II. After World War II, the Baltic States were again merged into the Soviet Union.

The Baltic states were not a new country, but the restoration of an independent state that existed between the First and Second World War. Thus, they reiterated their claim that the rule of the Soviet Union during the Cold War was an illegal occupation. Today, the Baltic states are liberal democratic parliamentary republics, and the market economy is developing on highways.

In 2002, the Baltic States took the first steps in achieving integration with Western Europe, a major political goal and a major goal after the withdrawal of the Soviet Union, by applying for membership in the North Atlantic Treaty Organization and the European Union. Thus, on 29 March 2004, it joined the NATO, and on May 1st, 2004, it joined the European Union.

At present, the Baltic States have a task to move away from the tide system and to incorporate it into a stable body. In particular, economic development and the issue of citizenship of Russian citizens in their own countries are major issues.

삭제한 댓글은 다시 복구할 수 없습니다.
그래도 삭제하시겠습니까?
댓글 0
계정을 선택하시면 로그인·계정인증을 통해
댓글을 남기실 수 있습니다.